Mamie Van Doren

Thoroughly Modern Mamie
Mamie Van Doren publicity portrait for the film Running Wild (1955)
Mamie Van Doren in a scene from the movie High School Confidential
Mamie Van Doren in All American (1953)

That depends.
On what?

Earl Wilson’s Album of Showgirls (1956)

The ideal size

“I was one of the first women to discuss the penis size of men I knew.”

While the men sit in judgment of the size, shape, and firmness of a girls breasts or behind, discussion in the ladies’ lockers is concerned with the firmness, shape, angle, and (yes, it’s true, fellas,) the size of her last night’s date’s penis. There would likely be a critique of his ability to bring her to a climax, his willingness to do so, his imagination in achieving this, and the duration of his enthusiasm. (Mamie Van Doren, Playing the field : my story. 1987).

In my autobiography, Playing the Field, I was one of the first women to discuss the penis size of men I knew. Because of that, the book caused quite a stir…. Talk show hosts, especially men, were intimidated by a woman who frankly evaluated men the way men had evaluated women over the years— by inches.

I said that seven and a half inches was my preferred minimum acceptable size, with eight as ideal. What, you may ask, is the basis for such a specific measurement? It is a complicated equation, to be sure— part astrology, part East Indian Kama Sutra, and part old fashioned carpenter’s tape measure. And experience. It’s the scientific method: experimentation. Go figure. It’s the right size.

Small guys, please don’t come crying to me. It’s not the end of the world. You’ve probably compensated beautifully for your little shortcoming by developing a great sense of humor or becoming a smooth lambada dancer or a skillful bridge player. Or maybe you’ve trained your tongue to do things not even imagined by the guys with the maxi-salamis.

Many people would like you to write another book. Do you have another book inside you?
I have more than one in me. The question is, can the world stand another book by Mamie? Playing the Field caused a God-awful stir in its day because I wrote candidly about my love affairs and—most especially frightening for the men who read and reviewed it—PENIS SIZE.

Would they tell you that?
Men who interviewed me during the book tour were so put off and uncomfortable discussing the subject that it was laughable. For years, everyone knew what my bust size was. All the magazines trumpeted about my 38-24-35 and every other glamour girl’s measurements, but when I started talking about how Burt Reynolds or Steve Cochran were HUNG, well, bar the doors, Nelly, there’s a she-devil in town. (Alan Mercer’s Profile)

Modern Man 1962 Yearbook Of Queens

Mamie Van Doren posing with some Alberto Vargas pin-ups, 1955
Mamie Van Doren, California, 1954 (KM Archive)
Topper. September 1964
Mamie Van Doren and Howard Hughes

“Am I… a… .a… what?”

When Kane asked in a casual tone, “Do you have any black stockings?” I was surprised. “The kind with the seam up the back?” he went on, his voice becoming just perceptibly thicker.
“I don’t wear them, Mr. Kane.”
“Walter. Well, we need to get you some stockings.” He got up from the chair and opened the door to his office. “Come on.” I realized it was the only way I was going to see Howard Hughes. Reluctantly I got up.

(…) “Are you sure Howard Hughes is going to be there?”
“You can count on it’ Joan [Joan Olander aka Mamie Van Doren]. He’s looking forward to meeting you.”
“Okay, Mr. Meyers. Eleven-thirty.”
“Oh, Joan one more thing. Make sure you wear a white sweater… with no bra.”

(…) I showed up at Paul Hessy’s studio dressed as requested. Johnny Meyers greeted me and took me into another room, where I saw Walter Kane and a tall, disheveled man who looked as though he hadn’t shaved in several days: Howard Hughes.

(…) “Well, Joan,” Hughes said, “I’m glad you could come to lunch.”
“Thank you, Mr. Hughes,” I said. “I’m glad we finally get to meet.”
He smiled from behind his scraggly growth of beard. He looked at Johnny Meyers and then back to me. Meyers got up and left the table. When he was gone, Hughes asked me, “Are you a virgin, Joan?”
My jaw dropped in surprise. “Am I… a… .a… what?”
“You know. A virgin?”
“You mean have I ever… ever been to bed with anyone?”
“Yes.”
“That’s something you’ll never know, Howard,” I said, brashly using his first name.
He blinked at me dumbly for a moment. A wave of annoyance passed across his face, soon to be replaced by a look of genuine amusement. He grinned broadly at me.
“Only time will tell.”

Mamie Van Doren, Playing the Field : My Story. G. P. Putnam’s Sons, New York 1987, pp. 31-33.

It all started in Palm Springs

My career really began in Palm Springs, and, like so many good things that happened to me, almost by accident. My mother and I were staying at the Montecito Hotel one spring and the owner of the hotel took a shine to me. He offered to sponsor me as a contestant in the Miss Palm Springs beauty contest. I was fifteen at the time and scared. I did my best to NOT enter the contest, but my mother finally convinced me.

The night of the contest, the popular Chi-Chi nightclub was packed. My knees knocking with fear, I paraded around the stage with several other girls in bathing suits to the cheers and applause of the patrons. The next thing I knew they were putting a crown on my head and I was Miss Palm Springs!

As luck would have it, the owner of RKO Studios, the eccentric billionaire Howard Hughes, was in the audience. A few days after the beauty contest, I received a call from RKO’s casting director asking me to meet Hughes and discuss a contract at RKO. It was the beginning of my movie career and the beginning of my offbeat relationship with one of the world’s richest men. mamievandoreninsideout.wordpress.com

Miss Palm Springs

The Desert Sun (1949-05-06)

Miss Palm Springs Named Queen of Press Club Ball

The Desert Sun (1949-06-21)

RRRR… RR… RRRR…

Mamie Van Doren by Bruno Bernard
Jeff Richards & Mamie Van Doren “Born Reckless” Publicity Photo 1950s
Universal Pictures Cheesecake Publicity Photo For Ain’t Misbehavin’ (1955).
Knight Vol. 4 No.8. Tommy Noonan and Mamie in Three Nuts in Search of a Bolt.

Three Nuts in Search of a Bolt (1964)

I have another movie called Three Nuts in Search of a Bolt. I thought “God, what a crazy title.” I read the script and Noonan made some changes for me.”

The plot: Low on funds, a trio of whacky characters share lodgings in a Hollywood house. Desperately in need of psychiatric advice, they turn to Tommy Noonan who schemes to consult a doctor and act out not only his psychological impairment but the traumas of his roommates; hence, therapy is furnished to all three boarders for only one third the price.
The subplot: None. Come to think to it, there’s not much of a plot, either.

In addition to performing a torrid striptease. Van Doren —as man-loathing peeler Saxie Symbol— was required to wade in the raw for a bath scene; the actress declined the latter, describing it as gratuitous. But upon wrapping the film, Noonan “begged” Van Doren to shoot the “beer bath” scene; it was critical to “selling” the movie. “That was like a month after we shot the movie,” says Van Doren. “He came to me and said that Playboy wanted to do a layout and put me on the cover.”

Since she owned a percentage of the film, and was certain to financially profit from a p.r. blitz, Van Doren acquiesced to the post-production nudity. “Of course Playboy helped the movie,” she concedes. “We shot it in a house up in the Hollywood Hills. The bath looked like a stone brook, Instead of using beer, we used shaving foam. They squirted all these cans of foam in the bath to make it stand up and look like beer foam. It had menthol in it and I was in there for quite a length of time. Oh my God, that menthol really killed me.”

A six-page layout was printed in the June, ’64 issue of Playboy. Readers demand- ed an encore, and Van Doren obligingly resurfaced in the magazine. “I did a lot of nude pictures after I did Playboy” she confirms. “I did quite a few of them. I really thought I was blessed. I thought, “Well here is my body and I don’t know what it’s going to look like ten years, thirty years from now if I’m still hanging around. I’m going to take pictures and be able to look at them when I get older, and see how I stack up to the ones then.” As a matter of fact, I have nude pictures on my staircase that I had taken in the ’60s and I look at them and say, “Hmmm. Not bad.’ I can stack up to them very easily.”

The “beer bath” scene
Playboy, June 1964

“As a matter of fact, I have nude pictures on my staircase that I had taken in the ’60s and I look at them and say, “Hmmm. Not bad.’ I can stack up to them very easily.”

Yes I have.

Mamie Van Doren at home, photographed by Earl Leaf (1956)
Girl Watcher No. 1 (March 1959)

Everyone still thinks I’ve only done “B” pictures, but all the Universals were “A”s!

Tell me about the studio system at Universal and the talent school they sponsored for the contract players.

That’s where we all started; it laid the groundwork for our acting technique. Good or bad, the system has changed. It’s sad that there’s no Louis B. Mayer or Jack Warner or Harry Cohn anymore. These men made “stars.” But as they cultivated these stars they put you in little cubicles: a dumb blonde or a gun moll. The nice girls piayed wives…I played bad girls. They knew where they wanted to put you and you didn’t fight it, because if you did you were put under suspension. They didn’t know how to handle me. They’d had Marlene Dietrich 20 years before, and I learned a lot from her. I really absorbed everything I could while under contract, because once you got into the studio you really had to go to work. You could either go out with the guys and show up the next day with bags under your eyes or you could toe the line. I toed the line; I didn’t even date unless I had to. I studied all the time—acting, diction, my high school and college lessons. They furnished everything for me and I was very grateful for the help. We were all under contract, trying to make it and hoping we would be picked up for the next year. What was frustrating was that Marilyn [Monroe] had scripts bought for her, but they didn’t buy a movie for me; they put me into whatever they had. I probably did seven movies in a year, going from one to the next. And I did some very big movies. Everyone still thinks I’ve only done “B” pictures, but all the Universals were “A”s! (“Put the Blame on Mamie” by Karen Moline, Interview 1987-10: Vol 17 Iss 10.

Bad Girl

Fling Festival Vol. 8, Winter 61-62.
Mamie Van Doren in Slackers directed by Dewey Nicks (2002)
Mamie Van Doren Striding a Fence. Born Reckless Motion picture, 1958.

Leave a comment